Cliché of the Day

Every Cloud Has A Silver Lining — unknown

Post Calendar

March 2015
« Feb    

Esoteric Poll

Do You Meditate?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...

Affiliate Products

Share This Site

Reincarnation – The Ancient Egyptian Nine Parts of The Soul

If you're new here, you may want to subscribe to my RSS feed. Thanks for visiting!

This is the first part of a feature article titled, The Ancient Egyptian Concept of the Soul, by Caroline Seawright:

“To the Ancient Egyptians, their soul, their being, were made up of many different parts. Not only was there the physical form, but there were eight immortal or semi-divine parts that survived death, with the body making nine parts of a human.

‘The precise meaning of ka, ba, ach (akh), `shm (sekhem), and so on is no longer clear to us. Well-meaning scholars try again and again and again to force the Egyptian idea of the soul into our traditional categories without enabling us to understand even a little of it any better’

– J. J. Poortman, Vehicles of Consciousness – the Concept of Hylic Pluralism

egyptThe Egyptian’s other worldly parts include:

1. Khat (Kha) – The physical form, the body that could decay after death, the mortal, outward part of the human that could only be preserved by mummification.

2. Ka – The double that lingered on in the tomb inhabiting the body or even statues of the deceases, but was also independent of man and could move, eat and drink at will. (There was both a higher, guardian angel like Ka and lower Ka that came from knowledge learned on earth.)

3. Ba – The human headed bird flitted around in the tomb during the day bringing air and food to the deceased, but traveled with Ra on the Solar Barque during the evenings.

4. Khaibit – The shadow of a man, it could partake of funerary offerings and was able to detach itself from the body and travel at will, though it always was thought to stay near the Ba.

5. Akhu (Akh, Khu, Ikhu) – This was the immortal part, the radiant and shining being that lived on in the Sahu, the intellect, will and intentions of the deceased that transfigured death and ascended to the heavens to live with the gods or the imperishable stars.

egyptian columns6. Sahu – The incorruptible spiritual body of man that could dwell in the heavens, appearing from the physical body after the judgment of the dead was passed (if successful) with all of the mental and spiritual abilities of a living body.

7. Sekhem – This was the incorporeal personification of the life force of man, which lived in heaven with the Akhu, after death.

8. Ab (Ib) – The heart, this was the source of good and evil within a person, the moral awareness and centre of thought that could leave the body at will, and live with the gods after death, or be eaten by Ammut as the final death if it failed to weigh equally against Ma’at.

9. Ren – The true name, a vital part to man on his journey through life and the afterlife, a magical part that could destroy a man if his name was obliterated or could give power of the man if someone knew his Ren – naming ceremonies in Egypt were secret, and a child lived his whole life with a nickname to avoid anyone from learning his true name!

The multiplicity of Egyptian thought is so different from the traditional view of western thought that it can be hard to imagine.”

Check Out This Awesome Esoteric Tour of Egypt with Amber St Clare

I’m fascinated by the elaborate structure of their belief system!  And please check out my previous  posts on the number nine

What do you believe?

Learn How to Create Your Objective Observer – Save 25% on My Ebook Now!

Write On!

Click Here to Subscribe to My Posts by Email

5 comments to Reincarnation – The Ancient Egyptian Nine Parts of The Soul

You must be logged in to post a comment.